NaNoWriMo – the motivation you need.

Posted: November 15, 2010 in writing
Tags: , ,

Often times we find ourselves in a lack of motivation, finding the time to write only between work and sleep, and even then spending that time on countless insubstantial episodes (blogging comes to mind.) Stephen King’s advice of 2000 words a day probably is  for only the full-time writers, yet it is without doubt that reading and writing a lot will inevitably raise your writing prowess. But, I hear you say, my life is torn between things I have to do, and things I want to do, and I can’t write between all of the havoc? Fear not, friends, for NaNoWriMo will make sure that writing takes your #1 place in things you want to do, and motivate you beyond reason.

The National Novel Writing Month, taking place every November, where people all across the continents gather to share the love and passion of writing.

Pictured: NaNoWriMo contestants

 

OK, that’s a huge lie. It’s a place where some strange people gather to share how crappy they can write when forced to write 1667 words per day for a month. The pain of forcing yourself to write that many words every day is akin to self-mutilation, which more and more people joining in every year. 50000 words in a month is madness unlike any other.

Last year, at my first time in NaNoWriMo, I burned out half-way during the month. Tried too hard, accomplished too little, and eventually scrapped the idea at a rather crappy 23000 words. Only after that I realized my priorities have not been set straight. I tried a delicate balance between writing fast and writing coherently. And that defied every concept this event wanted to achieve.

I do not like to write – I like to have written.” says Gloria Steinem in a quote I’ve decided to shamelessly rip-off from another pep-talk. That’s the spirit of NaNoWriMo (not ripping off, though you are absolutely free to do so), for its inevitable that you’ll feel like you hate writing during the whole month, but once December comes and you are able to look back at what you have produced, you’ll be able to say that you have written a novel. It will be a mass of unintelligible word-dump, yet it will be something, whereas before the month it was nothing.

I’m proud to say that I’ll be including this very blog post in my NaNovel, and whatever essays I write will be going there. You don’t need to hold back, nobody will judge you. It’s the word that counts, not the sentences. Perhaps I could even go into great lenghts in my novel as to why I am including this excerpt and how this blog post can possibly help my hero in his quest to world domination, even though there is no internet in Middle Earth (or whatever my fantasy world is called). The freedom is yours.

Pictured: Your idol for the month.

Be shameless, use whatever you can to achieve 50000 words before clock strikes midnight in November 31. For a single month, don’t live your life, and let your characters live their own. Don’t bother with plot holes, character development, and for this cause, not even with plot development. Let your stereotypical American character struggle to eat with chopsticks for over 3000 words. If it means having written a book, so be it.

Already more than halfway behind,

Xyllan, 13465 words.

 

Leave a Reply

